Home > Ending Violence > December 6: National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women



December 6: National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women

Ontario remembers the 14 female engineering students who were murdered at l'École Polytechnique de Montréal on December 6, 1989 by an act of gender-based violence. We also commemorate the missing and murdered Aboriginal women, the trans-women and each and every woman in Ontario and across the world whose lives have been harmed or lost to gender-based violence.

The 14 women at l’École Polytechnique de Montréal, were killed in a gender-based act of violence. They were:

Geneviève Bergeron
Hélène Colgan
Nathalie Croteau
Barbara Daigneault
Anne-Marie Edward
Maud Haviernick
Barbara Klucznik Widajewicz
Maryse Laganière
Maryse Leclair
Anne-Marie Lemay
Sonia Pelletier
Michèle Richard
Annie St-Arneault
Annie Turcotte

In 1991, the Parliament of Canada declared December 6th to be the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women.

The day now represents a time to reflect on the phenomenon of violence against women in our society. It is also a day for communities and individuals to speak out against all forms of violence against women and its impact on victims and their families and friends.

The Ontario government is helping to stop sexual violence and harassment with its Action Plan It’s Never Okay, and the introduction of legislation to help make workplaces, campuses and communities safer.

In Ontario, candlelight vigils, memorial services, and other events are held throughout the province.

Find out what you can do to end violence against women.

YWCA Rose Button Campaign

YWCA Rose Button CampaignEach year, the YWCA Canada produces and distributes Rose Buttons to mark December 6, the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women.

YWCA Canada has been the national distributor of the Commemorative Rose Button since 1991. Wearing the button helps to commemorate the young women students who were killed at l'École Polytechnique de Montréal, as well as all women and girls who have died as a result of violence against women. It is also shows support to all the women and girls who have experienced violence or who are currently facing violence.

The Rose Button Campaign is a fundraising opportunity for individuals, groups and organizations that support anti-violence programs and services. Buttons can be ordered through the YWCA.

Each year, Status of Women Canada produces an information kit for individuals and organizations wishing to raise awareness and take action against violence against women. For more information, and to find out about related events in your community, please consult the Status of Women Canada website

Accueil > Mettre fin à la violence > Le 6 décembre : Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes



Le 6 décembre : Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes

L’Ontario se souvient des 14 étudiantes en génie qui ont été assassinées à l’École Polytechnique de Montréal le 6 décembre 1989 lors d’un acte de violence sexiste. Nous commémorons également les femmes autochtones portées disparues et assassinées, les femmes trans, et chacune des femmes de l’Ontario et du monde entier dont la vie a été mise en danger ou perdue à cause de violence à l’endroit des femmes.

Le 14 femmes de l'École Polytechnique de Montréal, ont été victimes d'un acte de violence fondé sur le sexe. Il s'agit des personnes suivantes :

Geneviève Bergeron
Hélène Colgan
Nathalie Croteau
Barbara Daigneault
Anne-Marie Edward
Maud Haviernick
Barbara Klucznik Widajewicz
Maryse Laganière
Maryse Leclair
Anne-Marie Lemay
Sonia Pelletier
Michèle Richard
Annie St-Arneault
Annie Turcotte

En 1991, le Parlement du Canada a déclaré le 6 décembre la Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes.

Cette journée nous offre l'occasion de réfléchir au phénomène de la violence dans notre société. C'est aussi une journée pour les communautés et les personnes de dénoncer toutes les formes de violence faite aux femmes et de parler des conséquences que cette violence a pour les victimes et les familles et les amis et amies des victimes.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario contribue à mettre fin à la violence et au harcèlement à caractère sexuel avec son Plan d’action en adoptant une législation pour contribuer à rendre plus sécuritaires les milieux de travail, les campus et les collectivités.

En Ontario, des veilles à la chandelle, des offices commémoratifs et d'autres événements seront organisés dans toute la province.

Voyez ce que vous pouvez faire pour mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes.

Campagne des roses commémoratives de la YWCA – 6 décembre

Campagne des roses commémoratives de la YWCA – 6 décembreChaque année, la YWCA Canada distribue des roses pour commémorer le 6 décembre, journée nationale de commémoration et d’action contre la violence faite aux femmes.

La YWCA Canada est le distributeur national des roses commémoratives depuis 1991. Porter la rose permet de commémorer les jeunes étudiantes tuées à l'École Polytechnique de Montréal, ainsi que les femmes et les filles qui sont mortes à la suite d’actes de violence. Cela permet aussi de témoigner son soutien à toutes les femmes et les filles qui ont subi ou qui subissent actuellement des violences.

La Campagne des roses commémoratives permet d'amasser des fonds pour les personnes, les groupes et les organismes qui soutiennent des programmes et des services de lutte contre la violence. Vous pouvez commander des roses sur le site web de la YWCA à l’adresse suivante, YWCA.

Chaque année, Condition féminine Canada produit une trousse d'information pour les personnes et les organismes qui souhaitent sensibiliser le public à la violence contre les femmes et agir. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur des événements connexes organisés dans votre collectivité, veuillez consulter le site Web de Condition féminine Canada.